College of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences

Research Area

The College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences is engaged in research in the broad areas of Medicine, Health Care, Community & Preventive Medicine and Health Science. We have highly qualified staff that have significant experience and who are committed and dedicated to teaching and research. They have the drive to solve problems and can offer their service as consultants. The government and other organisations are welcome to contact any of our staff if they need any consultancy/research to be conducted in these areas. More information about individual staff research area is listed in our staff profile section.

College Research Committee
The core role of the committee is to help to develop and promote research among staff in the College. A secondary role is to scrutinise and approve the research grant application submitted by staff and students in the College. This is a very important process to ensure that works are of a high standard and that FNU policies are complied with. The CMNHS CRC works closely with the Ministry of Health and the National Health Research Committee since researchers usually need approvals from these bodies to use their facilities and data. The names of the committee members are given in the table below.


 Committee Members
 Chair/Dean Prof. Ian Rouse
 Representative from Research Unit

Sharon Biribo


Jyotishna Mudaliar

 Representatives of Research Centers 


  Dr. Wayne Irava


  Avelina Rokoduru


  Dr. Wendy Snowdon


  Dr. Santha Muller

Chair of Departmental Research Committees


  Numa Vera


  Dr. Temalesi King


  Dr. Odille Chang


  Dr. Mosese Salusalu


  Keshni Naidu
Representatives from each department


  Dr. Maitsetseg Bayarjargal



Dr. Anumala Ram

  Dr. Suneil Nath
  Prof. Jayantha Weerasinghe
  Dr. William May

Salanieta Naliva

  Sabiha Khan
Representative from Academic services  Niraj Swami 
Chair of NHRC  Devina Nand 
Representative from MOH research Office Mere Delai 
Committee Secretary:

Janice Natasha


Research Committee Officer, Research Unit


Ph: 3233 406

  Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.